Submissions open for IEEE Cybersecurity Awards


The IEEE Cybersecurity Initiative is excited to announce the opening of the competition for two awards:

  • The IEEE Cybersecurity Award for Practice
  • The IEEE Cybersecurity Award for Innovation

These awards will recognize individuals who have generated transformative cybersecurity capabilities and concepts. They will be awarded for:

  • Game-changing ideas that have substantially advanced, or have the potential to substantially advance, the practice of cybersecurity;
  • Approaches for designing or building novel cybersecurity systems whose impact can be quantified in terms of cost, time, and/or effectiveness;
  • Sustained leadership in cybersecurity research, policy, education, and/or enabling of best practices in implementation or engineering;
  • Work accelerating tech transfer of cybersecurity products, toward the enabling of cost-aware, secure solutions.

Winners receive a check in the amount of $1000 and a plaque commemorating their win. Winners will be required to attend SecDev and to summarize their invention at the conference. The IEEE thanks the MITRE corporation for their generous gift in support of this award.

The following distinguished review board will select the winners:

  • Jonathan Katz (chair), Univ. of Maryland
  • Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Rob Cunningham, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Donna Dodson, NIST
  • Ulfar Erlingsson, Google
  • Anup Ghosh, Invincea
  • John Manferdelli, Northeastern University
  • Andrew Puryear, MITRE

Nominations Due: 1 July 2018
Decisions: 13 August 2018

To nominate someone for the Award for Practice, expand the instructions below:

Award for Practice Instructions

To nominate someone for the Award for Innovation, expand these instructions below: 

Award for Innovation Instructions

Submissions can be done at the following link:, cover material described here (PDF).

  • The author field should include the name and contact information for the nominator. Only one nominator per submission is supported.
  • The title field should begin with either “Practice: ” or “Innovation: ” (depending on the award the submission is being nominated for), followed by the name(s) of the nominee(s).
  • Only a single pdf file may be uploaded. Submissions consist of a nomination followed by (optional) supporting documentation, so these should be submitted as one pdf file with the nomination first.
  • Submissions failing to adhere to the above requirements may be rejected.

The awards will be given out at IEEE SecDev 2018 in Boston, MA. For more information about the conference, head over to